The Patchwork Girl of Oz by L. Frank Baum

I knew L. Frank Baum wrote Oz books after The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, but I had never read any of them after the first nor did I realize just how many there are. I chose The Patchwork Girl of Oz to start my deeper foray into the Land of Oz. In this one, a munchkin wizard illegally brought a girl made out of a patchwork quilt to life and at the same time accidentally froze his wife, Margolotte, and friend, Unc Nunkie, into marble statues. Unc Nunkie’s nephew, Ojo the Unlucky, sets out on an adventure to find the ingredients required for a charm to bring those statues back to life. During his journey, he meets several friends from previous Oz books and some new ones as well.

I absolutely loved The Patchwork Girl of Oz. The story is so fun and engaging it’s hard to believe it was written over 100 years ago. Even though it is the seventh book set in the land of Oz, I did not feel like I was missing anything having only read The Wonderful Wizard of Oz before. I am sure this lovely book would be enjoyed greatly by old and young alike. (And, bonus, the Kindle version I got was formatted beautifully – something that doesn’t always happen with classics.)

5 (out of 5) Stars

Books Read in 2014: 49
Pages Read in 2014: 10,915
Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks (more book reviews!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Classic, Fantasy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s