Homer Price by Robert McCloskey

Homer Price by Robert McCloskey is a collection of six stories in the life of Homer Price, a boy growing up in the town of Centerburg a few decades ago. The Case of the Sensational Scent involves a skunk, aftershave lotion, and robbers. The Case of the Cosmic Comic involves The Super Duper (superhero) and the discovery that maybe he’s not quite what they thought he was. The Doughnuts is about a modern contraption that automatically makes doughnuts and what happens if you put way too much batter (and a diamond bracelet) in it. Mystery Yarn involves Homer’s Uncle Telly and three big balls of string. Nothing New Under the Sun (Hardly) is about a hermit who really did build a better mousetrap. Wheels of Progress involves putting up 100 brand new, identical pre-fab houses and creating a whole suburb in just a few days. The stories are fun and fantastic. It’s a quick read and enjoyable by kids and adults alike.

5 (out of 5) Stars

Books Read in 2015: 28
Pages Read in 2015: 7999
Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks (more book reviews!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Children

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s