Gregor and the Marks of Secret by Suzanne Collins

Gregor returns to the Underland to visit his mother and for lessons with Ripred. When a nibbler sends Luxa’s crown (a coded message that they need help), Gregor, Luxa, Boots, Hazard, and Howard along with four bats and Temp head out on a “picnic” (really, to investigate what is going on with the nibblers). They discover the gnawers are now being led by the Bane and attempting to eliminate the nibblers.

This fourth book of the Gregor the Overlander series is dedicated to setting up the final book. The feel of the entire thing is a bit darker than the previous books. The pattern established in books one through three is completely broken in this one. The end is quite depressing and makes you want to move right on to book five.

5 (out of 5) Stars

Books Read in 2015: 123
Pages Read in 2015: 36,645
Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks (more book reviews!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Middle Grades

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s