Glinda of Oz by L. Frank Baum

After reading about an impending war between the Flatheads and the Skeezers in a far corner of Oz, Ozma and Dorothy head out on a journey to prevent the fighting. They discover the Flatheads are under the thumb of the Su-dic (Supreme Dictator) and the Skeezers are harshly ruled by Coo-ee-oh. Coo-ee-oh sinks her island under the lake when the Flatheads come to fight, but after she is turned into a swan, the Skeezers are stuck in their dome underwater. Glinda, along with most of the other major friends met in previous books, arrives to attempt to raise the island and save Ozma, Dorothy, and the Skeezers and restore peace to that part of Oz.

Glinda of Oz was the fourteenth and last Oz book, published after L. Frank Baum’s death. It is a bit more serious than many of the other books and certainly lacked the amusing wordplay. It was still extremely exciting and enjoyable. Having the majority of the friends make their appearances made it a lovely final installment to the series. I highly recommend it to everyone from children to adults (no need to read the other Oz books or to read them in order).

5 (out of 5) Stars

Books Read in 2016: 99
Pages Read in 2016: 25,290
Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks (more book reviews!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Children, Classic

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s